Friday, December 07, 2012

President awards top designers, projects

The prestigious President’s Design Award 2012 has honoured four designers and nine projects this year for their contribution towards improving the way of life among Singaporeans.

Now in its seventh year, the awards presented by President Tony Tan Keng Yam were selected from 139 nominations across two categories - ‘Designer of the Year’ and ‘Design of the Year’.

“This year’s recipients and their works come from a variety of design disciplines, but converge in their fusion of excellence and creativity. The diversity and quality of these 13 recipients’ works underscore a growing embrace of good design across industries in Singapore,” said Robert Tomlin, Chairman of the President’s Design Award 2012 Steering Committee and Chairman of DesignSingapore Council.

In the Designer of the Year category, the winners include Hanson Ho (Creative Director, H55); Tan Cheng Siong (Principal, Archurban Architects Planners); Voon Wong (Director, VW+BS); and Yang Yeo (Chief Creative Officer, JWT Shanghai).

The nine recipients of the Design of the Year are 19 Sunset Place, Bishan–Ang Mo Kio Park, Building as a Body, Dell All-in-One Desktop PC Family, Martin No.38, PelĂ© Sports Trinity 3E, Spotted Nyonya Collection, The Browsing Copy Project and Wonder Box.

Ng Lang, CEO of the Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA), said: “The winning residential architectural projects for this year are an apt reflection of the importance that we place on the quality of life and liveability in Singapore, and the significant contributions of the architecture fraternity in this area.”

Image: Mr Tan Cheng Siong with his designs - one of the winners this year under the 'Designer of the Year' category

View the original article here

No comments:

Post a Comment